Major League Soccer
US Soccer

PRO officials nominated for MLS awards

Nov 21, 2014

PRO's Mark Geiger, Jair Marrufo and Alan Kelly have been nominated for the MLS Referee of the Year award. 

The trio have had a highly successful 2014, taking to the field 50 times collectively in MLS, and received recognition on the international stage.

Geiger was selected for the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil, where he officiated two games in the group stages – Colombia's face-off with Greece and Spain’s clash against Chile. 

His success in the preliminary rounds earned him a call-up to the last-16 game between France and Nigeria, making him the first US referee to take charge of a World Cup knockout round tie. He was then handed fourth official duties for the historic semifinal between Brazil and Germany, which saw the hosts crash out to a 7-1 defeat.

Jair Marrufo was another PRO referee who received international honors this year, being assigned to several games at the Copa Centroamericana.

Marrufo, in his 14th year of MLS officiating having made his debut with the whistle in 2000 at Colorado Rapids versus New England Revolution, is one of the most-used referees in MLS this year with 18 appearances.

Alan Kelly is the other Finalist after he enjoyed a successful inaugural year with PRO. 

Kelly joined the PRO roster after many seasons of officiating in the Republic of Ireland, where he won the Referee of the Year accolade five times, and he has been in charge of 15 MLS games this season.

PRO ARs Peter Manikowski, Paul Scott and Adam Wienckowski are the three officials vying for the MLS Assistant Referee of the Year award.

Scott is the most-assigned official out of the three, running the line on 17 occasions in MLS this year, while Manikowski and Wienckowski have made 12 appearances each. 

All have featured heavily in the MLS Cup Playoffs so far, with Wienckowski also involved in this weekend’s Western Conference Championship first leg between LA Galaxy and Seattle Sounders.

Following the announcement of the Finalists, PRO General Manager Peter Walton told “I am not a fan of awarding a single official with this accolade, for me my whole squad of officials have performed extremely well over the course of a very long season. Whoever wins the titles, wins them on behalf of all of their colleagues.”

The winners will be announced by MLS on November 25.

associated partners
Major League Soccer US Soccer Canadian Soccer Association North American Soccer League United Soccer Leagues National Women's Soccer League TAG Heuer Polar